Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Best .45-.55 Size Engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2019, 07:43 AM
Sundance2018

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking Best .45-.55 Size Engine

Hi Everybody -
I am contemplating a *new* 50-size nitro aircraft engine for a project I have and I would truly value all of your expert opinions. As a bit of a back drop, I have been flying RC for about 40 years and I've flown several different brands, i.e. OS, Super Tigre, ENYA, K&B, Moki, Saito, even Cox...to name a few. So, I may have experience, but I am certainly not an expert on engines by any means.

Lately, I've spent quite a bit of time reading various engine reviews here in the forums as well as online from magazines, but I've not yet pieced together enough information to answer my question:

What is the best, highest quality and most reliable nitro engine in the market?

Personally, I really like Enya and Moki: OS has been a hit or miss for me, but I read mostly positive reviews from fellow modelers. My .60FX is horrible.
I've read recently that OS has come out with a new .50SX engine for airplanes (not Heli's) but I can't find it anywhere and I've been looking heavily @ the OS .46 AXII ABL

For me I don't rate my engines on their power; I rate them on their total performance - manufactured quality, reliability, dependability, and durability. I want an engine that always runs well, smoothly, very high quality, and purrs like a kitten.

My OS .60 has never run well and I've had a professional engine guy at my former club (SCCMAS) try to figure it out w/ no luck. The best I can say about it is that I have certainly become an expert @ dead stick landings!!

Please share your views and opinions with me.

Tom
Old 03-13-2019, 11:33 AM
speedracerntrixie
My Feedback: (29)

Received 176 Likes on 151 Posts